Fire Department

Mission Statement

The Kern County Fire Department is dedicated to protecting life and property by providing effective public education, fire prevention and emergency services. We are committed to proudly serve our community in the safest, most professional and efficient manner.

About Kern County Fire Department

The Kern County Fire Department (KCFD) is an organization comprised of over 625 permanent employees protecting an area which spans over 8,000 square miles. Over 546 uniformed firefighters are stationed in 46 fire stations throughout Kern County. Added to this, the Kern County Fire Department has 14 Mutual Aid Agreements with neighboring fire suppression organizations to further strengthen the emergency services available to our customers.

We provide fire protection services for over 500,000 citizens living in the unincorporated areas of Kern County and the following cities:

  • Arvin
  • Delano
  • Maricopa
  • McFarland
  • Ridgecrest
  • Shafter
  • Taft
  • Tehachapi
  • Wasco


  • Air Operations
  • Apparatus Maintenance
  • Arson Investigation
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Fire Prevention
  • Fire Suppression
  • Firefighter Duties Includes:
  • Hazardous Materials Mitigation
  • Rescue
  • Training and Public Education

Fire Stations

Fire Station 74 (Ridgecrest)
139 East Las Flores
Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Phone: 760-375-8466

Fire Station 77 (Ridgecrest Heights)
815 West Dolphin Avenue
Ridgecrest, CA 93555
Phone: 760-371-2181