
CHAPTER XVII 

FIRE PREVENTION 

17-1 Fire Hazards Prohibited; Burning Regulations. 

17-1.1 Definition. As used in this section; "person" shall mean 

and include any and all domestic and foreign corporations, 

associations, syndicates, joint stock corporations, partnerships of 

every kind, clubs, schools, Massachusetts, business or common 

law trusts, societies and individuals. (Ord. No. 9, § 1) 

17-1.2 Combustible Material. No person shall deposit or keep, 

accumulate or permit, cause or suffer, any combustible rubbish or 

waste matter to be deposited, kept or accumulated in the City in 

such a manner as to constitute a fire hazard. Provided, further, 

that no person shall keep, accumulate or permit to be kept or 

accumulated any oily rags or oily waste, in any building or 

(F^ enclosure in the City unless the same is kept in a metal receptacle 

or can be fitted with a self-closing lid or cover, said receptacle 

being of durable material, having riveted joints, standing on 

metal legs which raise the bottom of the receptacle or container at 

least five inches from the floor. (Ord. No. 9, § 2) 

17-1.3 Burning Rubbish. No person shall set fire to or burn any 

brush, grass, lumber, trash, rubbish, leaves or other combustible 

material, unless such burning is done between the hours of 6:00 

a.m. and 12:00 noon; and in an incinerator, without first obtain 

ing a written permit from the City Clerk or his duly authorized 

agent, and then only in strict accordance with the terms of such 

permit. All incinerators shall have a one-quarter inch mesh 

screen lid or cover over the smoke stack, or equivalent thereof, 

and shall be permitted only when it is placed at least ten feet from 

any building, fence, property line, dry grass, or other combustible 

material. Written permission shall not be necessary when such 

flammable material is burned in small heaps or piles in plowed 

fields or not nearer than 100 feet to any house, corral, fence, 

structure, dry grass, brush, forest covered land, grain or stubble 

field, wood pile or hay stack or any other combustible material 

^\ (Ord. No. 9, § 3) 
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17-1.4 Burning Odiferous Material. No rubber scrap or any 

other material which produces or expels therefrom repugnant 

odors or other substances likely to cause an explosion shall be 

burned in an incinerator or within 50 feet of the property of 

another person unless within an incinerator which is designed 

and constructed to affect sufficient combustion of the material to 

prohibit the liberation to outside air of any substance, gases or 

odors which may be dangerous or harmful to health, safety or 

property. (Ord. No. 9, § 4) 

17-1.5 Penalty. Any person violating any provision of this 

section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction 

thereof shall be liable to the penalty established in chapter 1, 

section 1-5. Each day's violation of this section shall be deemed a 

separate offense hereunder for each which separate offense 

prosecution may be had and punishment imposed as herein 

provided. (Ord. No. 9, § 5) 

17-2 Uniform Fire Code. 

17-2.1 Uniform Fire Code. The Fire Code for the city consists of ' 

latest edition of the Uniform Fire Code, published by the Western 

Fire Chiefs Association and the California Building Standards 

Commission with errata and Appendix Chapters I-C, II-A, II-B, 

II-C, II-F, II-I, II-J, III-A, III-C, III-D, IV-A, of the "Uniform Fire 

Code Standards, 1997 Edition", as amended, the Fire Code is 

adopted by this reference is the Fire Code for the purpose of 

regulating the safeguarding of life, property and public welfare to 

a reasonable degree from the hazards of fire, hazardous materials 

release and explosion arising from the storage, use and handling 

of dangerous and hazardous materials, substances and devices, 

the operation, installation, construction, location, safeguarding 

and maintenance of attendant equipment, and the installation 

and maintenance of adequate means of egress not provided for by 

the building code. Three copies of which are filed in the Office of 

the City Clerk of the City of Ridgecrest and each portion and 

provision thereof is hereby referred to, adopted and made a part 

of this chapter to the same effect as if fully set forth herein, and 

is hereby declared to be the Uniform Fire Code of the City of 

Ridgecrest for the purpose of regulating the safeguarding of life, 

property and public welfare to a reasonable degree from the -^^v 
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hazards of fire and explosion arising from the storage, use and 

handling of dangerous and hazardous materials, substances and 

devices, the operation installation, construction, location, safe 

guarding and the maintenance of attendant equipment, and the 

installation and maintenance of adequate means of egress not 

provided for by the building code. 

Pursuant to the foregoing, the Fire Chief, in the exercise of his 

discretion, may interpret, administer and enforce this code by 

reference to the standards set forth in Section 101.3. Any author 

ity of the Fire Chief involving discretion, or interpretation of this 

code, shall be exercised in a reasonable manner. Any decision of 

the Fire Chief relating to the interpretation of this Code, or to the 

standards referred to in Section 101.3 of the Uniform Fire Code 

shall be subject to appeal to the City of Ridgecrest Board of 

Appeals and the Ridgecrest City Council. 

(Ord. No. 77-15, § 1; Ord. No. 85-03, § 11; Ord. No. 85-06, § 1; Ord. 

No. 87-10, § 11; Ord. No. 02-04, § 2, 10-16-02) 
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17-2.2 Amendment to Code. Article 12, Fireworks, is 

hereby amended by the addition of subparagraph (d) to 

Section 12.120, as follows: 'Safe and Sane Fireworks, as defined 

by Health and Safety Code Section 12504 may be sold, 

purchased and discharged within the City in accordance with 

the regulations promulgated by the Kern county Fire Depart 

ment. (Ord. No. 77-15, § 2; Ord. No. 91-04, § 2) 

17-2.3 Regulations Concerning Issuance of a Permit. 

a. The issuance or granting of a permit or approval of 
plans and specifications by the City Building Department 
shall not be deemed or construed to be a permit for, or an 
approval of, any violation of any of the provisions of this 
code. No permit presuming to give authority to violate or 
cancel the provisions of this code shall be valid, except 

insofar as the work or use which it authorizes is lawful. 

b. The issuance of a permit upon plans and specifications 
shall not prevent the Building Inspector from thereafter re 
quiring the correction of errors in said plans and specifica 
tions or from preventing construction operations being carried 
on thereunder when in violation of this code or of any other 

ordinances or from revoking any Certificate of Approval when 
issued in error. 

c. Every permit issued by the Building Inspector under 

the provisions of this Code or other Codes of the City shall 
expire by limitation and become null and void, if the work 

authorized by such permit is not commenced within 60 days 
from the date of such permit, or if work authorized by such 

permit is suspended or abandoned at any time after the work 

is commenced for a period of 120 days. Before such work can 

be recommended a new permit shall be first obtained to do 
so. (Ord. No. 77-15, §3) 

17-2.4 City or Employees Not Liable for Damages. This 

section shall not be construed as imposing on the City or its 

officers or employees any liability for damage resulting from 

defective work; nor shall the City or any of its officers or 

employees be held to assume any such liability by reason of 
the inspections authorized hereunder. (Ord. No. 77-15, §4) 
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17-2.5 Compliance with Requirements; Violation and Pen 

alty. No person, whether as owner, lessee, sublessee, or 

occupant, shall erect, construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, 

improve, remove, demolish, equip, use, occupy, or maintain 

any building or premises, or cause or permit the same to be 
done, contrary to or in violation of any of the provisions of 

this section or the code adopted herein or any order issued 
by the Building Official hereunder. Any person violating any 

of the provisions of this section or the code adopted herein 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and each such person shall 
be deemed guilty of a separate offense for each and every 
day or portion thereof during which any violation of any of 

the provisions of this section or the Code adopted hereby is 

committed, continued, or permitted, and upon conviction of 

such violation such person shall be punishable by a fine of 

not more than three hundred ($300.00) dollars, or by im 

prisonment for a period of not more than 90 days, or by both 

such fine and imprisonment. (Ord. No. 77-15, §5) 
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